Provo DUI Defense Attorneys
Every year, a substantial number of people in Utah are charged with driving under the influence (DUI), and every year, many of those people lose out on important opportunities to defend themselves against the consequences of a DUI conviction. It is important to take these matters seriously because a conviction will be on your record for 10 years and any subsequent offenses may be enhanced to a felony charge.
At Esplin | Weight, our Provo DUI defense lawyers understand that these charges can be difficult to fight against. We provide aggressive representation to help you avoid or reduce driving under the influence charges. We can represent you in an administrative hearing and we are not afraid to take your case to trial. Contact a DUI attorney by phone at 801-373-4912 for a free initial consultation.
Seeking to Avoid License Suspension and Criminal Conviction
Many people who are charged with DUI are not aware that almost every DUI case in Utah goes through two separate stages: a driver’s license hearing stage and a criminal prosecution stage. Our DUI attorneys have the knowledge and skill to handle these proceedings to a degree that few others in Utah have. We will make sure your rights are protected during these stages. The driver’s license administrative hearing is very important because it gives you an opportunity to question the police officer about the DUI stop and arrest early on in the case. Of course the driver’s license hearing is vital because driving privileges are at stake.
The sooner you retain an attorney the better. With a DUI charge, you may lose your license for 120 days, one year or even longer, before you ever step into a courtroom. By obtaining legal representation as soon as possible, you may increase your odds of beating the charges and minimizing any loss of license time.
If you have been arrested for drinking and driving, you have a 10-day window to request a hearing at the state Driver’s License Division. If you do not request a hearing, you will automatically lose your license for at least 120 days.
In the criminal case, if you are found guilty, you will face additional consequences. Your driver’s license may be suspended, DUI convictions carry a minimum jail sentence even for a first conviction, an ignition interlock restriction will be placed on your license, and the conviction will be enhanceable for 10 years. A DUI can end up costing much more than legal fees and court fees. It is important to hire an attorney who really knows how to handle a DUI.
We Will Take Immediate Steps to Protect Your Rights
If you want to fight a DUI charge, it is important to hire an experienced DUI lawyer. By taking the right steps early in your case, we can prevent the police or prosecutors from taking advantage of you.
For example, if a field sobriety test was used to establish probable cause to arrest you for DUI, we will immediately request all the details of the test and begin assessing whether it was done correctly. Field sobriety tests must be performed according to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) standards. By contesting field sobriety tests at your driver’s license hearing and in court, we are often able to avoid the criminal charges entirely, or at least set a good precedent with the prosecutor. If there was an intoxilyzer test performed it is important to get the reports on the machine to see if there have been any malfunctions or repairs to the machine. When an intoxilyzer test is given the officer must follow certain protocol as established by the manufacturer of the machine. It is important to look at the actual site of the machine and understand the layout in order to assess if the required protocol was done to the standards of the manufacturer.
At Esplin | Weight, our DUI attorneys will get all information available in order to fully assess your case. Most attorneys do not dig into the case beyond the usual discovery and reports provided by the prosecutor. We have found through experience, that the basic discovery is not enough. Often times a case can be dismissed or reduced because the attorney looked deeper into the case and took a closer look at the evidence. We refused to take a first glance approach to the case and will fight for a dismissal.
Call for a Consultation With a Utah DUI Lawyer
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, it is important that you retain legal counsel as soon as possible. Contact one of our DUI attorneys at 801-373-4912 or by email for a free initial consultation to discuss your case.